My Posts · Recipes

Roasted Veggie Bowl – Recipe

It’s unfortunately still winter in California. Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE WINTER. But only when there’s snow on the ground or in the forecast. In South SF, that’s never the case. So all this rain is nice, until it lasts two whole weeks and causes mudslides, landslides, and is just too much. I’m over it. So to help me cope with the cold rainy days and nights, I somehow concocted an awesome roasted winter veg bowl.

It was so good I really wanted to share it with you all!

I wanted to focus on winter veggies that were pretty easy to cook, super filling and tasty. Before I went out and bought more food, I checked around my kitchen to see what I had. So this basically became a bowl of what was left in my kitchen. I was happily surprised and only had to grab one thing from the grocery store.

Ingredients you’ll need:

  • 1 medium/large sized sweet potato (depends if you like leftovers, I do 🙂 )
  • 1 acorn squash
  • 1 block High Protein Tofu (you can cut and roast it all at once if you want, I only used half the block)
  • 1 cup farro
  • 2 cups spinach
  • 1 cup kale
  • Toppings of your choice: Kite Hill Ricotta, salt and pepper to taste
  • Spices used on tofu and veggies: 1t chili powder, 1t garlic powder, salt and pepper, 1t dried basil, 1.5T melted coconut oil drizzled on veggies and tofu.

Prep:

Preheat the oven to 375°. While preheating, cut the acorn squash and sweet potato into ~1 inch cubes. The acorn squash may give you a little grief. I recommend chopping it into halves, scrapping out the seeds, then chop into smaller strips. From there, chop those strips into 1 inch cubes and slowly and CAREFULLY cut off the skin of the squash. This was a bit time-consuming for me because I’ve never cooked an acorn squash before. SO, if you have a better way to prep it, HELP ME! 🙂

Place the squash and sweet potato on a cooking tray and drizzle coconut oil, and sprinkle on some spices.

Once the squash and sweet potato are prepped, get out a saucepan and add 1 cup of farro and 3 cups of water or stock. I tend to avoid stock because most have celery products and I’m allergic, so I stick with water.

Bring the water with farro to a boil and put it on low (about a 2) and let it cook for 25 minutes with the lid on.

Cut up your tofu, about 1 inch cubes, put them on a cooking tray, season them with selected spices if you so choose.

Then go ahead and place both the tofu and the veggies in the oven. Cook all of that for 25-30 minutes, or until golden brown and crispy on the outside.

With this system, both the farro and the ingredients should be done at approximately the same time.

With about 10 minutes left on the oven, put some coconut oil in a pan and sauté some kale with garlic powder and salt and pepper. By the time the oven is done, the kale should also be cooked.

Alright people, we’re almost there!

Once all the timers go off, make sure the rest of the water from the farro is drained.

And you’re ready to put it all together!!!

As I said, I really like different textures, that’s why I decided to leave the spinach raw – for a little crunch.

Add 1 cup spinach to the bottom of the bowl (so it kind of cooks), add 1/4 cup farro, as much of your tofu as you want, as much of the veggies as you want (kale, sweet potato, acorn squash), add toppings, and enjoy!!

img_3149

Additional toppings that I didn’t add (yet): sliced almonds, chickpeas, green onions, panko bread crumbs.

And some advice, play around with this recipe, add something else, if you don’t like an ingredient substitute with something you love. Have fun with it!

When you try this and find a different topping or ingredient that works well, let me know! I’m excited to add little tweaks, because creativity never hurt anybody.

This bowl will for sure fill you up and make you feel warm and happy during the rest of our winter season! And you’ll likely have leftovers, so you can enjoy the next day too!! Woohoo!

Until next time…

“Usually one’s cooking is better than one thinks it is.” – Julia Child

 

Cheers!

2 thoughts on “Roasted Veggie Bowl – Recipe

  1. Stop meghan me hungry so early in the morning! I’ve never had anything but struggles when working with raw acorn squash, but a yummy, simple recipe that my aunt taught me is to wash the squash, cut in half and scoop out seeds, pierce its skin all over with a fork, pop in the microwave for 5 minutes or so (rotate it every so often, and it will be PIPING HOT when it comes out), then throw the same kinds of toppings you’d use on a sweet potato in there (butter, brown sugar, cinnamon, maybe honey, etc.)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

